Attala farmers can apply for emergency loans from the USDA Agricultural Service Agency


Administrator Zach Ducheneaux has designated six (6) counties in the state of Mississippi as the primary natural disaster area. Growers in Benton, Neshoba, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Tippah, and Winston counties who suffered physical damage and loss from a tornado and high winds on April 13, 2022 may be eligible for the Department’s Agricultural Services Agency American Agriculture (USDA) (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows the FSA to provide much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from a natural disaster. Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing critical items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm operation, or refinancing certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Mississippi counties of Alcorn, Attala, Choctaw, Clay, Kemper, Lauderdale, Leake, Lowndes, Marshall, Newton, Prentiss, Union and Webster are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is January 25, 2023.

The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral and ability to repay.

The FSA offers a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the effects of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: the Livestock, Bees and Farmed Fish Emergency Relief Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock fodder disaster program; Livestock compensation program; farming and farm property loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers can contact their local USDA Service Center for more information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at


About Author

Comments are closed.